Department of Electronics and Electrical Communication Engineering Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

DST – Fund for Improvement in S&T Infrastructure

Brief Outline Department

The Department was started in 1951 and it now offers B .Tech. and a wide variety of postgraduate programs for the M. Tech., M.S.(by Research) and Ph.D. degrees in many interdisciplinary areas. To keep pace with the rapid advances in electronics and telecommunications, the Department has been in the forefront of modernization and updating of the courses offered. There are 14 Professors, 3 Associate Professors and 11 Assistant Professors in various fields of specialization.

Teaching & Research Activities

- I) Four-year B.Tech. (Hons.) and Two-year M. Tech. in Electronics & Electrical Communication Engineering. M. Tech. specializations are:
 - 1. Telecommunication Systems Engineering
 - 2. Visual Information Processing and Embedded Systems Engineering
 - 3. RF and Microwave Engineering
 - 4. Microelectronics & VLSI Design
- II) Five years Dual degree.
- III) Master of Science (by Research) and Ph.D. in E&ECE (Research Program).

Facilities Created

Currently the video conferencing system created under DST-FIST program is used by Prof. S Sengupta & Prof P K Biswas of E&ECE Dept. along with their groups for R&D activities on session management, video coding etc.



Video Conferencing System

For further details contact:

Prof. Ajay Chakraborty
Head/ Coordinator
Department of Electronics and Electrical Communication Engineer
Indian Institute of Technology
Kharagpur- 721302
Tel. No. 03222 282264 (o),
Fax no. 03222 25530

Email ID. bassein@ece.iitkgp.ernet.in